Maker Pro
Maker Pro

fiber optic project (for university, help required)

cameron_john

Sep 15, 2011
hello all,
i have just started my second year of university, i am studying aircraft engineering and we have been tasked with a year long project that will ultimately play a large part in our final grade.

the basic brief for the project is to come up with, or innovate upon any aspect of an aircraft (non-military) it will involve a 10,000 word report.

i am looking at doing the project on the replacement of copper wires in aircraft with fiber optics.

within the coarse so far we have only had the basic classes covering logic and basic theory. i have an external interest in electronics from a young age and have done several projects on my own, simple things like a headphone amp in a tin..but enough to involve getting a board and soldiering components in.

now i am aware power transfer via fiber optics is not as efficient as copper, however as far as information transfer (radar, sensors as well as control surface commands) due to the bandwidth multiple signals could be transferred via a single lead (with a backup) hopefully saving weight. Cost is an issue, but as this is a project the time scale can extend to a point where the price of fiber optics would make it a viable alternative.

The bit i need help with.

i would like to make a simple mock up as part of my final demonstration, actually make a working fibre optic transfer system. i once saw a system where audio was transferred in a fairly simplistic looking system, with what looked like a pulsating led (probably a simple laser) something like that would be ideal (transfer of data, moving a servo would be the bee's knee's)

first thing is first, getting the basic system working, but i would like to go as far as having a mock up control setup.

budgets not huge on my part, but the uni says it will supply any parts it can get free of charge (but i assume i will need to purchase some of the more specialized stuff)