Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Finding Current and Voltage in a series parallel combination

Epircus

Feb 15, 2013
I'm new to electronics and I'm really struggling to understand combination of series and parallel circuits.

I built this circuit recently and gathered all the required data across each resistor.(missing is the dc voltage source at 15V)
http://imgur.com/HZHptfV

I calculated Rt = 316 ohms and then using Ohms law found Is = 47.4mA. I found all this to be correct but that's not what I'm having difficulties with.

Now I want to be able to figure out how much the current is going through each resistor. I've been trying different formulas but have found no luck(Ix=rt/rx) for example I7 measured current is 7.40 mA using my formula it is way off. I know I'm doing something wrong and I want to have a better understanding of this circuit. Is there anyone willing to walk me through finding each branches current? I would highly appreciate the help.

john monks

Mar 9, 2012
I mustn't do your home for you but I will suggest one thing. You already have the circuit and a 15 volt supply. Hook it up and measure the voltage of every resistor one by one. Find out the voltage and see if you can logically tell why each voltage is as it is. The math is easy so I assume you are having difficulties understanding resistors. Remember these things:
The current across a resistor is directly proportional to the voltage across it.
The resistance is directly proportional to the voltage divided by the current.
The voltage is directly proportional to the resistance times the current.
The current leaving a device is equal to the current entering the device.
Draw your schematic larger, draw current paths, and the answers should become clearer.

Last edited:

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010