Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Finding internal resistance of a cell/battery

wingnut

Aug 9, 2012
Hi all. I am a very frustrated science teacher hoping someone here can help me with my homework :)

Every year my Gr 12's have to find the internal resistance of a cell using Emf=IR + Ir where R is the external circuit resistance and r is internal resistance of the cell .
I know very easy ways to find r but from this year the powers that be want us to do it with a battery with a voltmeter in parallel across it, and with a switch, variable resistor and ammeter in series completing the circuit.

Learners have to change the potentiometer and for various different values of R they get I and V readings. These they combine into a graph.

Now where is what I don't understand. The slope of the graph is supposed to equal to r. But the slope is negative, whereas r is positive. Here is what I wrote to a fellow teacher...

"Why should V/I = r since we are NOT applying Ohm's law by keeping R constant and changing V and measuring I.
Also the slope of the graph is NEGATIVE and r is not negative.

I want to tell the powers that be that their mandatory prac is shait.

If you could look over the prac and memo - I feel this is the least useful way to find r and it gives no reason why slope = r.

I know that Emf=IR + Ir or Emf/I=R + r so Emf/I -R = r

and R=0 when I = max current. V = max voltage (Emf) when I = 0

So it happens that Emf/I = r but that is not the same as slope because these are specific values that only work when R=0 or external voltage (terminal potential difference) = 0."

I have attached the practical file and the teachers memorandum, which only states that slope = r.

Science teachers always have questions (or at least I always have had) and luckily this question is on electricity, so when I wondered where on earth I could find help, I remembered my old friends at electronics point.

Attachments

• GRADE 12_electricity_practical. ENG FINAL-2.pdf
    304.8 KB · Views: 16