Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Finding the smallest possible actuator, or a new solution. Help massively needed!

GeorgeS1

Mar 26, 2016
Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and to electronics in general, so apologies in advance for being an absolute beginner in terms of knowledge. This forum has been super helpful, as have the people in it.

I'm trying to develop a piece of technology on a very, very small scale and am trying to find an actuator that will fit into the microscopic dimensions, or absolutely any other solution that can generate the type of telescopic motion i need. Here's a very rough sketch (apologies for the quality) of the dimensions that the actuator must fit in, and i'll describe it more below.

eg1.jpg
eg1.jpg
Essentially, what i need is to create a lifting motion from the 2x2x6 millimetre available to me, the motion needs to telescope out of the 6mil height to make contact with a very small mass above it. Almost like a microscopic hydraulic scissor lift. I realise that the answers coming back may be that this is absolutely impossible, so i'm prepared for that, but i really would appreciate any constructive advice. I have enough budget flexibility to get microscopic parts machined for purpose. Any other information i can provide, i will.

Thanks a million to anyone kind enough to help.

George.

Last edited by a moderator:

chopnhack

Apr 28, 2014
Is the 2x2x6 rectangular mass hollow or can it be made such to allow a thin bar to push up from below? The mechanism perhaps can be hidden below the rectangle?
Does the entire apparatus have to be hidden inside the 2x2x6 rectangle?

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
That is pretty challenging. Is it possible to have a flexible wire like the inside of a bicycle brake cable go through your 2x2x6 space with the actuator being larger and somewhere remote?

Bob

GeorgeS1

Mar 26, 2016