Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Flip Flop Charging - Can this be done?

Mike Bookbinder

Aug 21, 2016
Hello all,

I'm new to electronics and I am trying to learn as I go. What I am trying to do is see if it is possible to charge one supercap while another super cap is running a load. When the voltage in the driving cap drops to a certain level, swap caps and have the cycle repeat. I'm experimenting with recovering some energy in this case back EMF to see how long I can keep a pulse motor running. I'm interested in energy recovery ideas and not perpetual motion or over-unity. Below is a basic rough design of how this might work (or not).

Values are not calculated - Just guessing on my part

• Q1 is on and C2 is charging
  • Q2 is off and energy in C1 is under load
  • SW1 (reed switch) is CLOSED and pulses a motor
  • SW1 is OPEN and back EMF is sent back to Q1 and Q2 and flows only through the transistor that is on, in this case it would be Q1 that is now charging C2.
  • Once C2 reaches maximum charge, it turns on Q1 (flip flops) and now begins to charge C1
  • The cycle repeats.
  • L2 supplies current as magnets pass the air coils when the motor is spinning
  • L1 is the drive (PULSE) coil and back EMF is routed back to Q1,Q2

flopcharger2.png

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
Bullet items 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 8 are incorrect, have serious errors, or do not describe the components in the schematic. For example:

1. Q1 is on and C2 is charging - for a *very* long time. Even with a small supercap such as 0.1 F, the time constant is 2.78 hours