Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Float Charger

AliasZ50

Apr 29, 2017
I found this circuit on a page and i want to do it, but i don't understand what's the point of the capacitor in the circuit and i'm kinda new to electronic circuits , could someone explain it to me ?float_charger_nimh_cells_circuit_diagram-2.jpg

Externet

Aug 24, 2009
The manufacturer of the voltage/current regulator IC recommends the use of a capacitor in its data sheet for better behavior under input spikes or ripple.

AliasZ50

Apr 29, 2017
The manufacturer of the voltage/current regulator IC recommends the use of a capacitor in its data sheet for better behavior under input spikes or ripple.
Thanks a lot!! but what about the transistor connected to the regulator ?

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Seems you are unappreciative of #2 with your exclamation marks.
You didn't ask originally about the transistor, just the capacitor.
However, the transistor monitors current (RCL) and adjusts the regulator output to suit, depending on set point.( I would imagine)

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
When the charging current causes a voltage of more than about 0.7V across the 1.2 ohm resistor (0.7V/1.2 ohm= 583mA) then the transistor turns on and drops the regulator voltage which limits the current.

The horrible circuit does not detect that a battery is fully charged then it over-charges the battery that is bad. Ni-MH battery manufacturers recommend disconnecting the charger when the battery is detected to be fully charged.

AliasZ50

Apr 29, 2017
Seems you are unappreciative of #2 with your exclamation marks.
You didn't ask originally about the transistor, just the capacitor.
However, the transistor monitors current (RCL) and adjusts the regulator output to suit, depending on set point.( I would imagine)
Sorry that wasnt my intention , english is not my native lenguage so expressing myself can be hard

AliasZ50

Apr 29, 2017
Thanks for the info , but i have one last question: Why is there a diode attached to the regulator ?