Maker Pro
Maker Pro

footstep power generator

makanaka

Oct 13, 2015
hie guys,

im a final year student and hoping to augment the current power generated in my country by venturing into an alternative source for power by converting human locomotion into usable power. i need help to decide on the type of sensor to best fit my functionality and a corresponding amplifier circuit to allow the output current to charge a 9-12V battery. please help

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
i need help to decide on the type of sensor to best fit my functionality and a corresponding amplifier circuit to allow the output current to charge a 9-12V battery. please help

Hi there
welcome to EP :)

Any amplifier will require an external power source and that fact alone will negate what you are trying to achieve

cheers
Dave

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Dave's completely right. It's been done before in another way. Look here.
Or look up "energy harvesting" using your favorite search engine. Your "amplifier" would be a step-up or boost DC/DC converter in this case.

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
There's also the small problem of energy conservation. The energy you (inefficiently) put into charging the battery has to come from the food you eat. So any saving on your electricity bill will be more than offset by an increase in your food bill ;).

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
There's also the small problem of energy conservation. The energy you (inefficiently) put into charging the battery has to come from the food you eat. So any saving on your electricity bill will be more than offset by an increase in your food bill ;).
Except if you are 'Mo Farah', who is advertised as British.........He is Somalian.....NOT BRITISH....
OR ENGLISH....Damn

dorke

Jun 20, 2015
What jumps to mind is a piezo in the boots...

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012