Maker Pro
Maker Pro

ford fiesta mk7 radio volume control not working

alabora

Jul 28, 2023
6
Joined
Jul 28, 2023
Messages
6
I changed the encoder in the radio control panel of my Ford Fiesta. The old encoder was doing sound reduction and amplification but not on/off. The newly installed encoder, on the contrary, worked on and off, but it does not reduce or increase the sound at all.I'm waiting for your help20230719_123223.jpg20230719_123240 (1).jpg20230719_123223.jpg20230719_123223.jpg20230719_123223.jpg20230719_123223.jpg20230719_123240 (1).jpg20230719_123258.jpg20230719_123306.jpg20230714_141941.jpg20230714_142008.jpg20230714_142019.jpg20230714_142028.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20230719_123240.jpg
    20230719_123240.jpg
    158.7 KB · Views: 1
  • 20230719_123258 (1).jpg
    20230719_123258 (1).jpg
    125.8 KB · Views: 1
  • 20230719_123314.jpg
    20230719_123314.jpg
    203.3 KB · Views: 2
Last edited:

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
4,903
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
4,903
Hello, I replaced the encoder in the radio control panel of my Ford Fiesta. The old encoder did attenuation and amplification but not on/off. The newly installed encoder, on the contrary, turned on and off, but did not reduce or increase the sound in any way.
 

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
6,863
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
6,863
Sounds like you have either damaged other part of the board with the changeover ...or...... you did not check the new encoder for the same /different terminal pinouts.
There are plenty of videos these days that help with things like this to show how to test replacement parts.

For example, the new encoder could have the A,B and common on different pins.

Or, it is possible the centre common pin is connected to ground whereas your old one may not.

Contrary to many reports, the age old "ah, only 3 wires, what is there to know" ...........doesn't cut it.
 
Last edited:

alabora

Jul 28, 2023
6
Joined
Jul 28, 2023
Messages
6
Sounds like you have either damaged other part of the board with the changeover ...or...... you did not check the new encoder for the same /different terminal pinouts.
There are plenty of videos these days that help with things like this to show how to test replacement parts.

For example, the new encoder could have the A,B and common on different pins.

Or, it is possible the centre common pin is connected to ground whereas your old one may not.

Contrary to many reports, the age old "ah, only 3 wires, what is there to know" ...........doesn't cut it.
hello, thank you for your answers. I did not damage the card. There is only one option left, the pinouts are different. I have no idea how to detect pinouts
 

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
1,809
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
1,809
Hello, I replaced the encoder in the radio control panel of my Ford Fiesta. The old encoder did attenuation and amplification but not on/off. The newly installed encoder, on the contrary, turned on and off, but did not reduce or increase the sound in any way.
I don't get it... you have a Ford fiesta as well... with the same problem?
In the United States we have car junk yards were people can come in and dismantle parts and components, radios, heaters, lights that sort of thing for price$, perhaps you can get lucky if you have something in your area like that.
 

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
6,863
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
6,863
I have no idea how to detect pinouts
Well, I could give you a complete run down but not about to waste my time on something you can Google.
Note...not only detect pinout BUT also look for any that might be grounded.
 

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
4,903
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
4,903
I don't get it... you have a Ford fiesta as well... with the same problem?
In the United States we have car junk yards were people can come in and dismantle parts and components, radios, heaters, lights that sort of thing for price$, perhaps you can get lucky if you have something in your area like that.
Lol..
The OP posted the thread in Turkish. I simply used google translate and copied/pasted.
 
Top