Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Found problem in Kenwood KR-V95R

Quahlity

Mar 4, 2020
First time posting here.

I give my niece my Kenwood stereo only to find it wouldn't power up.
It had sat for a few decades on my basement floor.
Being an old lazy engineer I checked Google first and found this site.
EP seems to have better answers that 'Just buy a new one' so that was good.
However, nothing specifically for my stereo.

So I looked around inside it, and after a while found the two biggest caps were leaking. Also another right next to them. They are C44 and C45 (7500uF 71v) and C46 (3300uF 25v). They cost about $20 all together from China. I have about a two month wait for them, but unless they corroded the neighboring parts too much, that should be the fix. Time will tell.

Ylli

Jun 19, 2018
Are you sure it is leakage and not just the glue the factory uses to stabilize these larger parts? If the caps are not bulged and the 'leakage' is hard and dry, it is probably glue.

I wouldn't suggest getting those Chinese caps anywhere near the unit.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
So I looked around inside it, and after a while found the two biggest caps were leaking. Also another right next to them.

Are you sure it is leakage and not just the glue the factory uses to stabilize these larger parts?

totally agree

They are C44 and C45 (7500uF 71v) and C46 (3300uF 25v). They cost about $20 all together from China

I wouldn't suggest getting those Chinese caps anywhere near the unit.

agree again ... they are pretty crap

@Quahlity

please post a photo of the caps and what you think is leakage

I see by your IP that you appear to be in the NE USA, you should have been getting caps locally ... probably much cheaper

73's de Edd

Aug 21, 2015
Sir Quahlity . . . . .

I now THIRD the uber-high supposition / and / probability, of there being an initial misanalysis . . . . . on your part.