Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Hacking the buzzerbox

Mika

Nov 24, 2017
Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie here and started picking up electronics about a half year ago, not very intensely as I haven't a lot of time. I'm normally a software dev!

Anyhow I have this project here where Im trying to modify my buzzer box inside my apartment to connect to this bluetooth module I have so I can control it over bluetooth. I've attached a picture of the back of the box, this wiring goes directly into the wall. As to where it goes I'm not 100%.

These are the tests I've run so far, I've unplugged both red wires going into slot 1 and found that everything still functions normally as far as I can tell, the talk button may be off but others work.
I've checked for a circuit between the 2 and 4 (I think 4 is ground) which is activated it seems when someone buzzes and 3 and 4 form a circuit when the listen is activated or door is buzzed, but I still haven't figured out the door buzz key.

If anyone has any ideas on what I can do next to figure this out or where I would start that would be great as I'm a bit lost now :(

I've also noticed the 3 and 4 circuit takes a few seconds for the multimeter to register when holding listen, the multimeter shows numbers increasing then it beeps as it registers a full circuit.

Buzzer Box

Attachments

• img_20171119_192728_1024.jpg
    img_20171119_192728_1024.jpg
    57.2 KB · Views: 86
  • 20171124_134835.jpg
    20171124_134835.jpg
    106 KB · Views: 83
  • 20171124_134843.jpg
    20171124_134843.jpg
    297.7 KB · Views: 84

Tha fios agaibh

Aug 11, 2014
Frist guess: Looks like 1 and 2 are your audio. (twisted pair) when you press talk the speaker works like a microphone. When in listen mode audio goes the other way to your speaker. Pin 4 is from the call button in the lobby that buzzes on your receiving end.
I couldn't upload the pdf for Is-489
(I believe that's what you have) there is some info that might help you.

Last edited:

Mika

Nov 24, 2017