Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Has anyone ever replaced a garage door opener that uses the old fashioned dip switch decoder with a raspberry pi? I need to use the old remotes.

KA0IPN

May 2, 2023
The IC that is used in the receiver is no longer made. ( MC145028P if you care. )
runs on 318 mhz and has open close and stop controls. So it needs 3 outputs.
I am new to this. As in I have never done this type of thing.

We use the boards to open doors and they need to be universal for all trucks.
The newer programmable remote units wont work for what we are doing.

The remotes are still available but the receiver boards are not.

Any help would be great.
Thanks

crutschow

May 7, 2021
Not a trivial task.

If you look at the MC145028P data sheet you will see a flow chart that shows it's operation (below).
You would write a program for the Pi to emulate that flow charge sequence.

You also need an RF receiver that converts the received RF signal to the digital pulses for input to the Pi.
You may be able hack a new garage opener to get the signal.

That's all a rather complex task if you haven't done anything like this before.

It likely would be a lot better and easier just to get new transmitters for all the trucks along with new receivers.
Transmitters aren't that expensive (less than $10 each on Amazon).
The new ones use a rolling code, which is much more difficult to clone then the old transmitters with a fixed code.
1683048369395.png

Last edited:

KA0IPN

May 2, 2023
Not a trivial task.

If you look at the MC145028P data sheet you will see a flow chart that shows it's operation (below).
You would write a program for the Pi to emulate that flow charge sequence.

You also need an RF receiver that converts the received RF signal to the digital pulses for input to the Pi.
You may be able hack a new garage opener to get the signal.

That's all a rather complex task if you haven't done anything like this before.