Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Hello, Newbie here. Power Question

LarryD98

Jan 11, 2016
I am building a giant stereo. When I have everything hooked up and start playing music the lights dim. I am worried about my amplifiers getting damaged. Is there such a thing as a capacitor for 110 V. Thanks

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Hi Larry,
Can you be more specific.
A giant stereo?
The lights dim?. Stereo lights or town lights?:)
What do you mean by 110V capacitor? There are many types.

Martin

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
I guess you want to "buffer" the 110 V mains, right? A capacitor cannot be used to buffer AC (mains), only for DC.

If you want buffering to support peak demand of the amplifier, this needs to be done on the DC side of the amplifier's power supply. Plus you will have to add current limiting on the primary side to avoid the current peaks that make the lights dim.
The current limit in turn may cause distortions of the audio output when the buffer capacitor is depleted faster tahn it can be recharged from mains. This is a delicate balance between the different effects you see (and hear).

Buffering mains would not help anyway as the drain on the power is obviously so strong that you can see the lights dimming. I suggest you use a dedicated outlet for the amplifier, one that is directly connected to the central mains distribution in your house or appartment. That way the voltage drop alongthe mains wires will not influence the light on other wires.
If, however, the power requirements of the amplifier are such that the feed to your home is showing a noticeable voltage drop, there is no cure but a separtet feed to your home, or a less powerful amplifier.

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
There is no direct relationship between a very large amplifier, or a very large and horribly inefficient amplifier, and a stereo system that does not sound like crap. Which is your ultimate goal?

ak

LarryD98

Jan 11, 2016
Hi Larry,
Can you be more specific.
A giant stereo?