Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help current mode control and flipflops

Reino

Mar 26, 2017
I am a mech engineer and i am building or at least trying to understand current mode control.

The stuff i know is pid, statespace and transfer functions (i remember very little). And current control does not seem like any of these and more of a Oscillating pwm around a set point.

And a flip flop with a clock signal. I want to split up the pwm signals. Every second pwm cycle i want on one “channel” and every first cycle on another “channel”. Of i understand flipflops with clock input i can do this?

before you help me let me get my sharpest crayon .

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
You're mixing up a few things.
Current mode control takes its name from the fact that the controlled parameter of the circuit is the current (voltage follows current depending on the load). This is opposed to voltage mode control where the controlled parameter is the voltage (current follow voltage depending on the load). Both control methods can be used using a variety of mechanisms.
PWM is one such mechanism. Instead of adjusting the controlled parameter (either current of voltage) in a linear way, the parameter is turned on and off in rapid succession with varying duty cycle (ratio of on time to total cycle time).

And a flip flop with a clock signal. I want to split up the pwm signals. Every second pwm cycle i want on one “channel” and every first cycle on another “channel”.
Please explain in more detail what you want to do, preferably add a timing diagram (a picture is worth a thousand words).

Reino

Mar 26, 2017
Oo ok, i thought current mode control was a specific method like PID i was not aware of. the controller i want to use is a uc3823an. Want to be able to make the current control board of a DC welder controlling a H bridge at a set frequency. the welder i am reverse engineering has a pmw frequency of about 20khz.