Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help getting started on new project

UnknownFury

Apr 7, 2015
Hey guys,

I am essentially in the deep end with this project and know nothing about what I am doing. My background is in programming primarily however I did do a couple of electronics modules at university and I have in the past played around with Arduino etc.

I am looking to start up a project where I require 3 core things: access to wifi, gps tracker and probably about 32mb of stored memory, but more than that would be great. This will also need a self contained battery. The key thing for this project is that it is small. As small as possible. I have looked at Tinyduino and that is looking like a possibility. Ideally I want this to be as cheap as possible, obviously, and Tinyduino is looking good and the right kind of size but at $60 each for GPS and WiFi and $20 for the processing unit that's already $140 which seems pretty steep.

How small realistically can I get these requirements? What's the most cost efficient way of doing so?

Thanks.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
You realise just about every mobile phone has this

I don't want to sound negative but you really need to start off being realistic about what you can achieve

Initially you need to forget about a size restraint, unless you have access to a micro-electronics fabrication lab like where most of these miniature things are designed and built

initially just look at building a working system, regardless of its size. Once that is achieved, then you can consider ways to try and reduce its size .... something you are going to find really difficult with out that multimillion $$ lab ;)

Dave

Last edited:

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
You realise just about every mobile phone has this

I don't want to sound negative but you really need to start off being realistic about what you can achieve

Initially you need to forget about a size restraint, unless you have access to a micro-electronics fabrication lab