Maker Pro
Maker Pro

HELP!!! Kinetic Lamp design project!

VMagno

Feb 11, 2015
Hello everyone!

I'm new here but I've been lurking for quite a while reading up on good info. Unfortunately I've been having problem with my latest project and can't seem to figure it out, I'm an amateur btw. So this is my project!

I'm building a kinetic lamp, not only do I want it to move but also be touch activated, hence the whole exterior structure of the lamp will be made of aluminum. (First question here; Will aluminum work for touch switch?) Aluminum I'm using is thin sheet aluminum from Home Depot:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/MD-Build...lain-Aluminum-Sheet-in-Silver-56064/202091748
88945.jpeg

So I want this lamp to hang from the ceiling, so I bought a socket:
so95080bl.jpg

After that I bought a dimmable light bulb, as I would like to be able to adjust the light intensity of this lamp (one is LED other is fluorescent):
DLiqxuV.jpg

To turn it into a touch dimmable lamp I bought this 3 way touch dimmer to instal into the socket (or so I thought):
$_57.JPG

$_57.JPG

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1-TOUCH-CON...CIRCUIT-KIT-/380916453019?hash=item58b063ce9b

And to set up the movement inside I bought a 10 rpm 12v motor:
$_57.JPG

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DC-6V-Volta...429?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item486e785615

The motor I will later fit with some parts extending to the aluminum sheets I want it to move, but as you can see I (foolishly maybe) just went out and bought the essential parts I thought I needed for this, now I'm stuck on even installing the touch dimmer/on/off switch. I looked up this instructable: http://www.instructables.com/id/Simple-conversion-of-metal-lamp-to-use-touch-swi/?ALLSTEPS

But the wiring is different on the simple socket I have, just one hot and neutral cable going into the socket, I have no idea what to do with the black cable from the dimmer.
9ltb9rC.jpg