Maker Pro
Maker Pro

HELP me repair a HP SL4282N MediaSmart 42” LCD HDTV

tmink

May 27, 2021
Hello all! I am brand new to electronics repair, but I am a hard worker and a fast learner.

My TV screen stopped working a few days ago, shortly after a power outage in an older building in old Denver, but the power light can still be toggled on and off (yellow = on, blue = off). The TV is a freebie, “old” hand-me down, and I’ve purchased another for actual TV entertainment. However, I am looking to turn this TV into an extra monitor that I can connect to my computer via HDMI or VGA.

I’ve opened the TV and everything looks “normal” (to my very untrained eye), except for half of the power supply board (mostly the thick metal “scaffold”, possibly called the heatsink??) is coated in a white dust.

Can anyone help me/guide me toward the feasibility of what I’m looking to accomplish? Any ideas of what went wrong or how to diagnose?I’m happy to provide pictures of any components needed to help troubleshoot. Thanks so much in advance!

Best regards,
Taylor

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Many LCD screen faults can be tracked down to failure of the backlight.
If this is the fault, you can connect a known good signal and turn the tv on, an image can be seen by shining a torch at an angle to the screen.
As you are a self confessed amatuer, the standard warning about fooling around with mains connected device is relevant.

tmink

May 27, 2021
Hi @Bluejets, thanks so much for your reply!
First, thank you for your emphasis on safety, I'm making sure to be extremely careful, and also making sure I am grounded (and the TV is unplugged) when touching any components to avoid any ESD.