Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help needed with 555 Horn circuit Please

Scruffneck

Jan 8, 2014
Hi, I found a video on Youtube that shows the schematic and demo of a police horn (not siren). I'm a noob but I thought I could crack it with a little research and good enough solder skills. I'm not smart enough to verify the circuit however. Well, I tried once to make it really small on a project board, then again on a veroboard, then a less cramped attempt on same veroboard. Then I bought a breadboard and I Still can't get it to work. :confused:
Here's a link to the video which I uploaded to my channel:
and here's the same schematic I found after a search,
ewjz.jpg
, and here's an idea of me working on it:
s1ss.jpg
. Suffice to say I haven't cracked it. If anyone can help, I don't know how, but I need some... :( Oh, maybe a breadboard diagram and verifying it should work, that would help! :D

jcurrie

Feb 22, 2011
far from a expert on this but the 27k ohm resistor on pin two of first IC to pin 6 of second IC is bypassed on the schm. you posted don't know if it makes a diff.
jc

Scruffneck

Jan 8, 2014
far from a expert on this but the 27k ohm resistor on pin two of first IC to pin 6 of second IC is bypassed on the schm. you posted don't know if it makes a diff.
jc

Thanks, yeah I know, I thought that was odd so when building it I left the bypass until it didn't work then added the bypass after. When I did the breadboard I bought a switch aswell to test for a difference (you might see the switch on the breadboard pic, haha). Anyway, it didn't make a difference but thanks for pointing it out. :)

I'm really so clueless myself, I made further purchases for a higher voltage 1mF capacitor (63v after 50v), ceramic disc 10nF after trying polyester film, and tantalum bead 100nF after trying 100nF polyester film capacitor. No, I didn't think it would make a difference as I'd already done my preliminary research once it occured to me, but I had to try.

jcurrie

Feb 22, 2011