Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help on aquarium project

JohnZT

May 5, 2017
Hi all,

I am a beginner in this world and would like support in developing a project that I have in mind and what I will explain.

I want to replace the normal 12v aquarium led switch ON(Blue + White) – OFF – (Blue) into a light sensor system. Imagine ON(Blue + White) during the morning until there is enough light, OFF during the day and ON(Blue) during the night. Can you help me out on building a diagram and what to buy in order to setup this project?

Best regards

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
A light sensor circuit with two outputs and a little logic is not difficult. Making it work in your application needs more information.

Where is the switch located with respect to the lights and the 12 V power supply?
Is the supply 12 V DC?
Does the switch go to a dimming controller?
If this is a lid or bar with the lights built-in and a switch on the front, you'll have to open it up for some minor surgery. What is your skill set for this?

ak

JohnZT

May 5, 2017
A light sensor circuit with two outputs and a little logic is not difficult. Making it work in your application needs more information.

Where is the switch located with respect to the lights and the 12 V power supply?
Is the supply 12 V DC?
Does the switch go to a dimming controller?
If this is a lid or bar with the lights built-in and a switch on the front, you'll have to open it up for some minor surgery. What is your skill set for this?

ak

Hi ak,

Thanks for the the quick reply,

This is the led that I have:
s-l1600.jpg

This led lamp is a 12v dc.
My intention is to use the top of the lamp to acomodate the new logic board and the LDR to control the system.
I am very confortable to disassemble and make the necessary changes, however I don't know what controllers should I use.

Thanks and regards

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
It looks like a 3-position switch. Yes?
It looks like the 12 V source plugs into the bottom of the switch/mounting module. Yes?