Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help purchasing electronic meters

dannybten23

Dec 6, 2013
Hello, I have been tasked with designing a program to monitor the electrical consumption of different systems on a ship. I would like to attach electrical meters to systems such as the AC plant, pumps, radar, R/O water system... I am new to this, and would like any advice on what type of meters to buy. Ideally, the information will be electronically sent to a collection station for analysis.
What are the types of meters to buy?
what are the communication options?
What are some references I should read?
Has anyone done anything like this?
Any more information will help!
Thank you very much,
Dan

JimW

Oct 22, 2010
Can't be that tough. I am visualizing digital readouts for humans and a communication network for data collection. But the solution could ignore the visual part and just focus on data collection.

A quick Google search for "AC voltmeter" and "digital output" gets you several options for the voltmeter part. Example is here:
http://www.amplicon.com/MandC/product/HMI-Digital-Voltage-2511.cfm

Once you decide on the communication protocol (e.g. RS232), then you can see how many of your panel meters meet that requirement.

There are a few companies that specialize in data collection without the visual display. I would look for "analog data module"

Your biggest problem is defining your sensors. What does monitoring a pump mean? Output flow? pump internal temperature? You need to define the requirements for each and every parameter before you can go looking for the measurement device.

JimW

-Jim

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
If you're monitoring AC power, then you *may* be able to use some of the many clip-on devices used for monitoring residential power usage. These often allow many channels to be combined and read at a single location.