Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help required on Logitech Z-2300 toroidal transformer

RishiGuru

Dec 24, 2010
Hi, i am a newbie in this forum, and require help on my Logitech Z-2300 2.1 multimedia speaker system. My Z-2300 toroidal transformer have died and i need a replacement. But i do not know the VA rating of this transformer.

I was also able to gather the following information from the net:

Transformer Details
Manufacturer: Ten Pao International Ltd.
Model No: TOG433028F0
Input: AC 230V/50Hz
Output: AC 20.1V x 2
Diameter: 95 mm;
Height: 45 mm.
Amperage: Unknown
VA: Unknown

I opened my Z-2300 subwoofer and clicked some pictures, which i am posting below:

Based on the size - I would guess that this one is about 120VA.

But I don't know since Z-2300 is capable to deliver 200W RMS & 400W RMS peak power.

Z-2300 Specifications
Total Continuous Power(RMS): 200W
Total Peak Power(RMS): 400W

Also Z-2300 amplifier uses

i) Two STMicroelectronics Class-AB, 80W, TDA7295 amplifiers bridged together to provide a total of 2 X 80=160W for the subwoofer.

ii) Two STMicroelectronics Class-AB, 60W, TDA7296 amplifiers powering each of the satellites.

Total RMS Power = 80(TDA7295) + 80(TDA7295) + 60(TDA7296) + 60(TDA7296) = 280 W

I think any amplifier will produce a lot of distortion & noise at the peak. So, in order to produce distortion free sound at peak volume the amplifiers generally need to reduce its output peak power by 25% or more & also to comply with THX certification.

Reduced Total RMS Power = 60(TDA7295) + 60(TDA7295) + 40(TDA7296) + 40(TDA7296) = 200W

I think to comply with THX, Logitech have limited the power output. But i can be wrong.

So, do you think since it powers 4 TDA chips, it is 260VA rather than 120VA considering its size?

Since my Z-2300 toroid is bust, I got the following choices of toroids to fit in my Z-2300 from a local transformer manufacturer :

1) 120 VA --> 2 x 20 V, 3.00A
2) 120 VA --> 2 x 22 V, 2.72A

3) 160 VA --> 2 x 18 V, 4.44A