Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help understanding slow start circuit and tracking circuit in simple dual rail power supply

carebare47

Oct 21, 2010
Hello,

I am currently studying electronics and I am writing a report on the project I have undertaken this year, which is a dual rail tracking power supply. I have got a working prototype through trial and error and playing around on simulation software. I understand how most of the circuit works but am having trouble with two parts, the slow start circuit on the positive rail and the tracking circuit.
I know that the slow start circuit works by R9 charging C4, which gradually turns on Q1. The thing I don't understand is how Q1 gradually turning on makes the circuit slowly start up. As Q1 becomes more conductive does it not just bypass R3 and R11? However I think about it it seems like Q1 should slowly turn the circuit off.
Also, the tracking circuit. I get that the OPA445 somehow drives the LM337, but I don't know what signal it gives the LM337 and I don't quite understand how it knows how much of whatever the signal is to give to the LM337.

Any help in understanding this would be greatly appreciated. As I've said I've got a prototype working on breadboard, I just don't fully know how it works.

Many thanks,

Tom
Dual rail psu How it works.png Dual rail psu How it works.png

carebare47

Oct 21, 2010
Also could somebody explain what R4 is used for? Something to do with creating an equal resistance with the op-amp, I'm not sure. Also if a higher resolution image is needed I will upload one. Any help will be greatly appreciated :)

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
OK. The first thing you need to understand is that the LM317 produces an output voltage that's equal to the ADJ pin voltage plus the reference voltage (about 1.2V).

So the voltage at the ADJ pin determines the output voltage, and there is a fixed offset between them.