Maker Pro
Maker Pro

help with IR2110 chips

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,285
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,285
hello I have two IR2110 and am building a circuit as shown in the pictures attached I want to know the voltages needed on the HIN ans LIN
 

Attachments

  • ir2110 lt.jpg
    ir2110 lt.jpg
    119.1 KB · Views: 8
  • iIR2110.jpg
    iIR2110.jpg
    141.7 KB · Views: 8

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
3,581
Joined
Jul 7, 2015
Messages
3,581
Logic-level voltages. Have you checked the datasheet?
 

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,285
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,285
Thought as much, many thanks, the second thing I wanted to know was how in ltspice do I create a 50% duty cycle 50hz so when one is high the other is low, and when the other is high then the first is low, toggling, the only thing I found is how to create a signal on off in the pulse option on the voltage source setting so it would only turn one off and on, What I want to do is have when one is off when the other is on and vice versa thanks again
heres the data sheet but I don't quite understand it, can you circle the bits in the data sheet that relate to the LIN and HIN logic level and perhaps give me a small description about how the different voltages on the inputs then control the output alternating current

okay nevermind i understand it now

I still need to know this part "the second thing I wanted to know was how in ltspice do I create a 50% duty cycle 50hz so when one is high the other is low, and when the other is high then the first is low, toggling, the only thing I found is how to create a signal on off in the pulse option on the voltage source setting so it would only turn one off and on, What I want to do is have when one is off when the other is on and vice versa thanks again"
 

Attachments

  • IR2110.PDF
    333.2 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,285
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,285
again nevermind I think I have it it needs to have a voltage supply that osccilate between approx 0.6v and around 2.6v at 50hz and 50%duty cycle and connect it so that the inputs go into the positive and ground goes to ground

no I'm struggling to get this to work please help
 

Attachments

  • ir2110 ltspice.jpg
    ir2110 ltspice.jpg
    125.2 KB · Views: 3

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
3,581
Joined
Jul 7, 2015
Messages
3,581
Deleted
1692038218540.png
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
3,581
Joined
Jul 7, 2015
Messages
3,581
You could use two pulse voltage sources operating in anti-phase, e.g. one switching between 0V and 5V while the other switches between 5V and 0V.
 

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,285
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,285
as I understand 3.3 logic means that Logic low - input must be between 0V and 0.8V. Logic high - input must be between 2V and 3.3V.
I need to create a circuit that works at 55v rms which equals around 77 peak voltage so across the load needs to be 77v positive then 77v negative to drive a power transformer which is step up 55-230 or 1:4.2. I want it to work at 50hz and 50% duty cycle, i want to use ltspice to simulate the circuit but can't manage to get it to simulate right this knowlege is for hypothetical purposes and curiosity thanks for any help I'm struggling to find the correct scematic.

and I want to use the half bridges for the fact that they only operate with N-channel mosfets so it equals faster switching and my schematic doesn't work the way that I have it set up!

can someone send me an image of a schematic that works please using the IR2110 chips

So I have been thinking maybe theres an alternative way to get my 77volts to osccillate ie in the form of a ready made H-bridge that can support 80volts that I can buy "off the shelf" because it's proving harder than I thought it would be to design the H-bridge from two half bridges and the bootstrap circuitry and the resistors capacitors and MOSFETS diode etc. Just being lazy to be fair and I probably can work it out but if there's one ready made it might make life easier. I bought some egs002 modules a while back and it occured to me that maybe I could modify it to support 77volt DC. instead of using with its recommended 12volts
 

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
3,581
Joined
Jul 7, 2015
Messages
3,581
I understand 3.3 logic means that Logic low - input must be between 0V and 0.8V. Logic high - input must be between 2V and 3.3V.
That's correct. So in LTspice you can use two pulse voltage sources each with a 20ms period and a 50% duty cycle. Give one source an 'off' voltage of 0 and an 'on' voltage of 3.3. Give the other source an 'on' voltage of 0 and an 'off' voltage of 3.3.
 

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,285
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,285
Hi there Minder on the internet that I'm using, tahmidmc.blogspot. com, doesn't work because the website needs a secure connection is there any other way that I can access the information. Thanks for the help!
 

danadak

Feb 19, 2021
714
Joined
Feb 19, 2021
Messages
714

Attachments

  • Using the high-low side driver IR2110 - explanation and plenty of example circuits.pdf
    4.4 MB · Views: 4
Last edited:

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,285
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,285
many thanks I'll keep you posted about my progress

That information is priceless, I have been procrastinating to read all day but now am. It's good stuff

okay so now i understand how the circuits work how do you go about selecting the right values for the components I know in the pdf it said for the bootstrap capacitors, between 47uf and 68uf at 50hz, as for the diodes, they need to be fast switching diodes, how then do you choose the MOSFETS resistors, may sound stupid but it wasn't obvious to me, again thank you

I want alternating current of just shy of 80v

You will find the answer to your question here:
when.html
on my internet can't access!
 

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,285
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,285
thanks I will read. as far as I am aware the capacitor need to charge fast enough to cover the 20v gate to source threshold in my case i was 77v so to the gate needs to provide 98v and needs to keep the high side fully on for 20ms so the next part is the low side do you just turn it on by privinding 3.3v to the LIN then copy in a mirror image for a full bridge. To be honest i still dont know how the low side fet will achieve the 98v to turn it on, thank you and am awaiting your reply
 

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
3,475
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
3,475
Hi there Minder on the internet that I'm using, tahmidmc.blogspot. com, doesn't work because the website needs a secure connection is there any other way that I can access the information. Thanks for the help!
Did you see this copy.?
 

Attachments

  • Tahmidblog.pdf
    476.3 KB · Views: 5

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,285
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,285
Yes I read the article and comments. There isn't any mention in the text or pictures about the values of the MOSFET's that I could find! perhaps i missed something

D1, C1 and C2 along with the IR2110 form the bootstrap circuitry. When LIN = 1 and Q2 is
on, C1 and C2 get charged to the level on VB, which is one diode drop below +VCC.on, C1 and C2 get charged to the level on VB, which is one diode drop below +VCC.
When LIN = 0 and HIN = 1, this charge on the C1 and C2 is used to add the extra voltageWhen LIN = 0 and HIN = 1, this charge on the C1 and C2 is used to add the extra voltage
– VB in this case – above the source level of Q1 to drive the Q1 in high-side– VB in this case – above the source level of Q1 to drive the Q1 in high-side
conguration. A large enough capacitance must be chosen for C1 so that it can supplyconguration. A large enough capacitance must be chosen for C1 so that it can supply
the charge required to keep Q1 on for all the time. C1 must also not be too large thatthe charge required to keep Q1 on for all the time. C1 must also not be too large that
charging is too slow and the voltage level does not rise sufciently to keep thecharging is too slow and the voltage level does not rise sufciently to keep the
MOSFET on. The higher the on time, the higher the required capacitance. Thus, theMOSFET on. The higher the on time, the higher the required capacitance. Thus, the
lower the frequency, the higher the required capacitance for C1. The higher the dutylower the frequency, the higher the required capacitance for C1. The higher the duty
cycle, the higher the required capacitance for C1. Yes, there are formulae available forcycle, the higher the required capacitance for C1. Yes, there are formulae available for
calculating the capacitance. However, there are many parameters involved, some ofcalculating the capacitance. However, there are many parameters involved, some of which we may not know – for example, the capacitor leakage current. So, I justwhich we may not know – for example, the capacitor leakage current. So, I just
estimate the required capacitance. For low frequencies such as 50Hz, I use betweenestimate the required capacitance. For low frequencies such as 50Hz, I use between
4747μμF and 68F and 68μμF capacitance. For high frequencies like 30kHz to 50kHz, I use betweenF capacitance

this is good information but i dont understand how i will achieve my 98volts to the gate of the highside MOSFET, and I don't understand how the 98volts is achieved on the gate of low side MOSFET. Do you see my problem

I will be using the setup in image 8 so can i just put in to the circuit MOSFET's that are adequate i.e. under 500volts??? thanks

e.g. IRF540N
 

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
3,475
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
3,475
Silicone Labs used to have a on line calculator for the Boot-strap cap, It is too bad they appear to have removed it some months ago.
 

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
3,475
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
3,475
I think I found someone who has carried it over.
 

Maglatron

Jul 12, 2023
1,285
Joined
Jul 12, 2023
Messages
1,285
OH MY GOD, LEGENDS ok how to use?? :)

ok wait that minimum frequency is 2500hz im only using 50hz in my setup plus I can't work out how it works

I'm just going to simulate with the valuse given and use some different MOSFETS and see what happens
 

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
3,475
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
3,475
It doesn't look as user-friendly as the original, but may have to play around with it.
You need the numbers from the Mosfet APP notes.
 
Top