Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with repairing a Samsung HT-BD8200 Soundbar SMPS

eigiman

Oct 10, 2019
Dear EEV Friends,

I have many years' experience in SMPS and general electronics design and repair, and generally know my limits, but am a little stumped by this little bugger (see attachment).

Basically, there is a 5.6V standby circuit, which is used to produce a P_ON signal which switches everything else on.
Everything else does come on and is well within tolerance, except the +/-28V and -5V supplies generated by the MR4040. This will come on intermittently, most often not though.

All the standard culprits have been checked - electrolytic capacitance and ESR checked, diodes, optocouplers, resistances, dry joints. MR4040 has been replaced. Nothing. I've partially localised the issue (I think) - the measured Vcc on pin 4 of the MR4040 is at around 7V when it doesn't switch on, but is at +11V when it is functioning. I can't find any info on the Vcc requirements for the MR4040, though.

You can see that during the transition from standby to on, initially the Vcc is supplied from a rectified output on the primary of the ICE3B1565J via RB16, DB6 and RB10 (all checked), but I don't understand how this voltage can be too low if all the secondary voltages are correct.

I'm beginning to suspect the ICE3B1565J, a little out of desperation rather than logic...
Any suggestions or ideas?

This appears to be a common failure mode for this particular board based on internet searches (power LED flashes white/red, sometimes starts if allowed to "rest" for a few days), however I could not find a solution...

Cheers
Ilya

Attachments

• samsung_ht-bd8200 120.pdf
    232.6 KB · Views: 9

thedoc298

Oct 4, 2019
Run down the pin 4 some more with the 50v cap and 24v zenner I would be expecting more than 11 volts. See what is happaning on ub2

eigiman

Oct 10, 2019
Thank you, I've fixed it.

First, I tried the feedback components around the MR4040 - no change.