Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Homemade Ecaller Advice

Ricco

Jan 7, 2015
Hello All, My first post in here. I'm by no means an Electrician, but I've always had a knack for electrical residential work. Bu this project I could use some help on.

I'm building a homemade Ecaller, its a sound producing device used to call in Predators such as Coyotes.

Here is a link to one of the top of the line Ecallers. http://www.gofoxpro.com/site/products/digital-calls/fusion

As you can see they are pretty pricy.

So here is my plan.

50 Watt Horn here, or a 100 watt horn here.
Battery Powered Amplifier Here

Then an mp3 player with a 1/8 inch stereo jack.

Plug the MP3 player into the amplifier, and the amplifier into the horn. From that point I should be able to take all the contents, put them in a bag and go set them out in the middle of the field and hit play.

Can anyone comment on whether this will work or not?

And my other question is, how do i find out what the output of the amplifier is, do I get the 50 watt horn or 100 watt horn?

Lastly, if I want to control the unit from a long distance, say 100 yards, can I run a signal that far through 100 yards of speaker cable to the horn, or will it degrade across that distance? How can I control the sounds playing and the volume from 100 yards away? Whether wired or wireless.

Any help is appreciated.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
The amplifier you posted in junk ;)
The output is going to be far too low.

As an alternative google around and buy a class-d amplifier board. http://www.ebay.com/bhp/class-d-amplifier-board
They will be able to provide the power you want for the 100W or 50W horn.
You need to supply your own battery, and need to calculate how long you want it to play for.. bigger battery = longer play-time.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Hi there and welcome to Electronics Point :)

Thanks for giving us the background to your project. This makes it a lot easier to give you useful answers right from the start.