Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Hooking up LED lights turn on like dome lights

Deski

Dec 9, 2016
Hey everyone,

Electronics newbie here so I got some questions for you pros. I finished a project of replacing my headliner in my 2000 Cherokee XJ with a tapestry of a galaxy. Something different but looks real amazing! Even did the sun visors to match! After I got the headliner back in, I had this great idea to put some lights in the headliner to look like stars. What I'm looking to do is when I open the door, the lights (or stars) come on just like the dome lights. So my question is, how can I make this happen?

I've posted on another electronic forum and the guys over there helped a little bit but I'm still having trouble figuring out how I can make this work. I was hoping I could get some more help from you guys to make this project happen. Let me get you guys up to speed on what I've tried.

So these are the lights I want to hook up and put on my headliner:

http://www.lightsforalloccasions.co...hts-timer-silver-wire-20-foot-cool-white.aspx

It has 60 LED lights in the strain but I bought a smaller 5ft strain with 30 LEDs so I could use it as a guinea pig. The lights use a battery pack, using 3 AA batteries so it's only using 4.5 volts. Here's a few pics of the battery packs:

The 5ft strain
293hk3n.jpg

The 20ft strain
57m6g.jpg