Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How can I swap a stock piezo buzzer for a louder 140db buzzer?

Pretzelzzz

Oct 9, 2016
Hi all,

I've bought a small proximity sensor kit and since the buzzer which came with it wasn't particularly loud for my purpose, I bought a 140db 'personal attack' alarm, that I hoped I could rip the buzzer from, and use instead of the original buzzer. Screenshot attached of the two buzzers side by side.

However, when I interchange the buzzers, the 140db buzzer just makes a clicking sound when powered, or if the +/- is reversed, makes a low pitched buzz, neither of which is like the high pitched extremely loud buzz it is capable of if the personal attack alarm is demo'ed.

At this point, I have very little electronics knowledge, but hoped there might be a simple answer (additional component I need to buy?) that would help me make use of the 140db buzzer instead of the stock buzzer.

I've tried connecting the wires coming from the sensor control box either direct to the 140db buzzer, or to the battery terminals on the 140db 'personal attack' device, thus running the power through its pcb. (which I thought would originally work). The pin on the device (like a grenade) is obviously removed, so the device is always in 'on' mode, when power is enabled.

What I do know, is that:
-the original parking sensor kit, is 12volt.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Reverse-R...372943?hash=item35e94c858f:g:AZkAAOSw9N1VqRLa

-the buzzer which originally came with the kit, may be 9-15v (95DB?), according to others which appear on Ebay with similar appearance.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DC-9-15V-...456401?hash=item2a6afaee91:g:bHMAAOSwc1FXbmi7

-the 140db buzzer uses 3x LR44 batteries, which is 4.5v combined.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/142016527776?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&var=441122329369&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated - thank you :)