Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How do I build a underwater Infrasonic (10 -30 Hz) projector?

William P Hilmes

May 10, 2018
I am a beginner in my electronic ability. I want to study the effect of sound waves in the 10 - 30 Hz range on submersed aquatic plants. To do this I will need to build a underwater infrasonic projector. I have started my lab with a two channel signal generator and a two channel Oscilloscope. The problem is that all the suppliers who sell Piezoelectric Ceramics components are designed for much higher frequencies (>1000 Hz). That is my starting material to build an underwater transducer. I will need to look at many frequencies in this range so I will need my transducer to be tunable. Any suggestion or ideas would be appreciated. Thank you!

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
I will need to build a underwater infrasonic projector.

Forget about using piezoelectric ceramic transducers for 10 to 30 Hz infrasonic sound waves in water. You need a much more powerful transducer capable of moving a significant mass of water under controlled excitation. A magnetostrictive transducer will do the job nicely.

To build one you need to acquire a magnetostrictive rod and wind a solenoid coil around it. When the coil is energized, the rod will change length (this is the magnetostrictive effect). So the signal you need to energize the coil with is in the 10 to 30 Hz range. My best guess (pure rectal extraction) is you need something on the order of a kilowatt of power to get any appreciable "audio" power into the water. You will also need an impedance-matching horn attached to the magnetostrictive rod to efficiently couple its energy into the water. How to build that is an exercise left for the student.