Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How do I determine if an RF signal is transmitting? Re: Weather station

Erstwhile

Apr 12, 2022
43
Joined
Apr 12, 2022
Messages
43
I dug out a couple of my older weather stations this past week and installed batteries in the base units and remote sensors. None of the base stations show connection with the sensors.
As the highest frequency my o-scope can read is 125 MHz, and the sensors xmit in the the 400 and 900 MHz regions, how can I determine if they are transmitting?
I do have a chinesium SDR I bought a couple of years ago, but I haven't able to get it to work.
If I do get it working, will it be sensitive enough to pick up a signal?
No, I do not have schematics for the sensors.
 

danadak

Feb 19, 2021
779
Joined
Feb 19, 2021
Messages
779
Yes the SDR "should" have enough sensitivity.

Regards, Dana.
 

Harald Kapp

Moderator
Moderator
Nov 17, 2011
13,738
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
13,738
May the sensors and base stations require a form of pairing?
 

Erstwhile

Apr 12, 2022
43
Joined
Apr 12, 2022
Messages
43
@Harold Kapp,
Not pairing like in Bluetooth, where a code must be entered for the connection to complete.
Usually, the remote sensor (temperature, Humidity, Wind Speed and Direction, Rainfall, etc.) needs to be powered up first and when the base station is powered up, it will connect to any signals matching its protocol.
 

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
6,514
Joined
Jun 25, 2010
Messages
6,514
If the three individual (?) senders are not displaying then the likelihood is that the RECEIVER is shot! as it's highly unlikely three senders would all fail at the same time.....
 
Top