Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to increase current in a circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mijanur Rahman

Jul 12, 2015
Hello everybody,
I need your help please. I have a step up circuit that step up only voltage like 3.5v input to output 5v(1200mA) DC-DC booster circuit. It takes greater input current than output current. But i need only greater output current. I mention again i need to use lower input current and greater output current. I found online that 555 timer circuits increase output current. Here is the link http://www.555-timer-circuits.com/increasing-output-current.html
So can anybody tell me how to set up this circuit to increase my output current? I am new in electronics. This link dont show the proper circuitry like where to start positive and negative terminal. And also tell me how to join this circuit with my step up circuit. In this link you will see some specifications for output current. I need 3A - 5A using a BD679 or equivalent with heatsink. This current is perfect for my project. So please anybody help me.
Thanks,
Mijanur Rahman
[email protected]

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
But thats how a booster works. So what you are saying is you need a boost circuit that boost voltage but the input current needs to be the same as output current?
Adam

Mijanur Rahman

Jul 12, 2015
But thats how a booster works. So what you are saying is you need a boost circuit that boost voltage but the input current needs to be the same as output current?
Adam
Well as it boost only voltage can not it(or any other circuit) also boost current? or can i use any other circuit either in series or parallel to increase output current?

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
For it to boost voltage it requires current, the input current can be more than output current.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Well as it boost only voltage can not it(or any other circuit) also boost current? or can i use any other circuit either in series or parallel to increase output current?