Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to pursue processor/memory design

LuciferNext

Nov 18, 2018
I am a sophomore (Electrical Engineering) in IIT Delhi. Halfway through the year(end of the third semester), I have developed interest in designing of processors/memories. Till now, I practically haven't learnt much apart from the operating physics of MOSFETs(not much about applications) and some basic signal processing and data structures and algorithms. I am confused as to how I should pursue my interest. I need to know what kind of courses I should take upon, what kind of projects I should try to do and other relevant things to learn deep about this and pursue a career.

My aim is to get into designing of processors and memories for building better computers. I have a basic knowledge of Machine Learning and I prefer the involvement of machine learning in whatever I work on.

My confusion is :
What courses should I essentially choose? (Basically, what are the broad topics I need to start learning about). I have certain things in mind like a basic course on VLSI Design, CMOS circuit design, Computer Architecture and basic courses on Digital/Analog Electronics. Please suggest more courses if needed, rather any suggestion you have in this matter.
It would be very helpful if you guide me with the abovementioned thing as I need to take up courses and projects for the upcoming semester within a week.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
I am retired from Intel. They design processors and memories there. Well, not so much design processors, as design the next iteration to improve the throughput and reduce the power used. The team of engineers that does this iterative design is about 1000 people. And that does not include the software people like me.

No one deals with high level architecture and also designs the actual MOSFET circuits on the chips. There are probably 5 or 6 layers of design in between.

In other words, wanting to design processors and memories is way too broad a category.