Maker Pro
Maker Pro

I can't get power to this vacuum pump

pologenius21

Sep 14, 2011
hi, i'm new to the electronics game and this forum so everybody bear with me for a minute. i just purchased a vacuum pump from an online industrial vendor, now the power supply doesn't have a regular 120v house outlet but has a 4 pin adapter. I am not even in entry level in electronics and have no idea how to convert the 4 pin adapter so that i can plug it in to a wall outlet. the 4 pin colors are 2 black one brown and one blue. if you could help in any way thanks sooo much and if not thanks again.

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
Contact the vendor, and ask them.
Didn't you get an instruction sheet when you made the purchase?
The vendor or the manufacturer will be able to give you the information you need.
If you don't do any of that. Tell us the manufacturer and model number of your pump,
and somebody here will probably find the information for you on-line (or you can do it
yourself).
People here like to help. But when you ask a question like this, you need to give
us the information you have. Manufacturer and model number of the pump.

pologenius21

Sep 14, 2011
Thanks for responding. The item in question is a Thomas 2505CE38 45-985 Compressor and Vacuum Pump. I purchased this item because in the description it states that it can pull up to 27" Hg and that's ideal for vacuum infusions for fiberglass, which is the project I am currently on. But again the only power source it has coming from the motor is a 4 pin adapter, with 2 black one brown and one white wire. If anyone can help in any way it is much appreciated, as of now the project's on hold until I do more research.

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
Here is an eBay listing with pictures showing the connector. It seems to be a Molex connector - of the same type that is used on the good old PC power supplies.