Maker Pro
Maker Pro

I'd like to know how put a digital sound bite on a component

rickus

Jan 3, 2012
I'm not a student doing homework; however, I am a newbie to electronics and have learned many of the basics self-taught (I've gotten pretty good at soldering components onto circuit boards, too). Simply put, what I would specifically like to know is how to put a digital sound (for example, a doorbell sound from a .WAV file) onto an electronic component; then, push a button and play it through a speaker. A good example would be the sounds that come out of the scary decorations you'd see at those Spirit shops during the Halloween season. I've dissected some of those devices to find a small circuit board that has what appears to be some kind of chip beneath a dab of black glue (see photo). I assume this is where the sound is stored. Anyway, I'm inspired to create my own sounds in such a manner. If someone could explain the concept to me and/or direct me to a DIY project page or file, that would be helpful. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• IMG_1706.JPG
    IMG_1706.JPG
    326.9 KB · Views: 7

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
A good example would be the sounds that come out of the scary decorations you'd see at those Spirit shops during the Halloween season. I've dissected some of those devices to find a small circuit board that has what appears to be some kind of chip beneath a dab of black glue (see photo). I assume this is where the sound is stored. Anyway, I'm inspired to create my own sounds in such a manner. If someone could explain the concept to me and/or direct me to a DIY project page or file, that would be helpful. Thanks in advance!

google sound recorder
You can buy them to make up your own birthday greeting cards etc

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
how to put a digital sound (for example, a doorbell sound from a .WAV file) onto an electronic component; then, push a button and play it through a speaker.