Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Ideal Transistor for battery discharger

rooster92

Dec 8, 2011
I'm have a couple questions about using transistors. I have very little experience with them. I'm working on building an automatic discharger for some LIPOs that I use for RC. I have most of the circuit built. Basically, I'm using an op-amp to compare the voltage of the pack to a reference voltage. If the pack is above 15v or 22v (depending on the mode controlled by a switch), a transistor will be activated which will turn on a bank of bulbs. Attached is the schematic. I picked up a NPN 3055T (10A rating, 75W dissipation) and mounted a heat sink (see attached image). During my initial testing, I limited my power supply to 2A @ 15.5 volts (appr 31 watts) flowing through the heat sink and after only 8-10 seconds, the heatsink was much too hot to touch.

My questions:

1. How hot should or can a transistor get? I'm only running it at less than half of it's power rating so I'm a bit surprised it is getting so hot.

And because I know that is probably a very hard question to answer, perhaps I should be asking this:

2. What would be the best transistor to use for this application? Ideally, I'd like to discharge packs at ~10 amps.

Cheers!

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2011-12-08 at 12.23.32 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2011-12-08 at 12.23.32 AM.png
    42.2 KB · Views: 880
  • IMG_20111207_224449.jpg
    IMG_20111207_224449.jpg
    160 KB · Views: 543

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Welcome!

There is no ideal transistor, you always have to make compromises.