Maker Pro
Maker Pro

I'm new to Logic gates and digital electronics and could use some help please!

JustAddZero

Mar 7, 2015
Hey! I'm really new to using logic gates but I have recently started playing with a logic simulator and thought it would be a good problem to start with to make an LCD output count to 8 using logic gates.

I have attached a picture of all of the logic gates available on the app and a (hopefully) clearer explination of how the LCD component works.

All constructive comments will be appreciated. Thank you in advance!11051543_1061306577219541_474785173_n.jpg

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
May we assume that you can "use" the logic elements more than once to create a digital "circuit" for your emulations?

Regardless, what you need is a four-stage binary ripple counter to count from 0000, 0001, 0010, 0011, 0100, 0101, 0110, 0111, 1000 which when applied to the binary coded inputs of the simulated "LCD" display will count 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8. It will count higher after reaching 1000: 1001, 1010, 1011, 1100, 1101, 1110, 1111 which represents (in hexadecimal notation) numbers 9, A, B, C, D, E, F. Counts after F "roll over" to 0. Your "LCD" may not display counts greater than 9 correctly. The biggest problem I see is your available logic elements are combinatorial logic only. You need four flip-flops that you can "clock" to serve as a four-stage binary counter. Depending on how the simulator evaluates the states of the logic elements, you may be able to construct a D-type flip-flop using combinatorial logic and the "Memory Cell", but nothing is guaranteed.