Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Increase 12 VAC

Wouldyoukindly

Mar 23, 2020
Hey people I hope you can help..

I have some electronics knowledge but not not enough to help with this challenge so I hope you can help me

I am replacing a wired Gate intercom system with a wireless system..The gate is approx 1000 yards from the property and has an existing 12 VAC supply supplied via an underground cable going back to house. The NEW intercom system requires 12 VDC so I installed a AC TO DC convertor in the existing PSU box..

The convertor has a LM7812 regulator so I thought it was a simple job of connecting the AC supply to the PCB and hey presto 12 VDC O/P ...BUT nothing.. I have checked the Spec sheet of the LM7812 and it says to achieve 12 VDC output a minimum of 14 VAC is required, I have 14.8 VAC.. Either the PCB is faulty or the regulator requires a higher voltage input..I have sent the PCB back for a replacement but I was wondering if it isn't faulty what else could it be..I cannot change the AC input/ transformer to a higher voltage as the owners have no idea where the supply comes from in their house so I only have the existing supply. Is there a way to increase the 14.8 VAC incase that is the reason for not powering the regulator. ? I am also limited to space in the PSU box so cannot add too much circuitry...I need 12 VDC - 1 to 1.5 amp
Hope you can help..Yours Hopefully Wayne

bertus

Nov 8, 2019
Hello,

Do you have a schematic of your AC-DC converter?
When you rectify 12 VAC there will be about 15.5 Volts DC on the buffer capacitor.
This should be just enough to work with for the LM7812.
Keep in mind that the LM7812 might need some cooling.
When it gets to hot it will shut down.

Bertus

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
The convertor has a LM7812 regulator so I thought it was a simple job of connecting the AC supply to the PCB and hey presto 12 VDC O/P ...BUT nothing.. I have checked the Spec sheet of the LM7812 and it says to achieve 12 VDC output a minimum of 14 VAC is required,