Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Inductance of motor

electronicsLearner77

Jul 2, 2015
I want to know how to measure the inductance of the synchronous motor, I googled and found an LCR meter can be used. Is it correct? One other question is, i can measure the Line-Line inductance because they are only accessible points (R,Y,B). Can i assume that if L_line is the line inductance, then the phase inductance will be L_line/2? Similarly for Resistance will it be R_Line/2?

TCSC47

Mar 7, 2016
I'm not an expert on induction motors but I have a Peak Atlas LCR40 that is excellent for measuring any R, L or C and it does it automatically. Cost about £100. Its main job for me is to help me identify surface mount components when I am constructing a printed circuit. It would measure the inductance of a motor in exactly the same way as for any inductor.

However, the frequency at which the LCR40 measures the inductance will be automatically selected by the instrument to be 1KHz, 15KHz or 200KHz depending on the inductance that it sees. The magnetic properties of the iron core will change with frequency of the measuring current, and I suppose ideally you would want to measure the inductance at mains frequency. I don't know off hand if this would make a great difference to what is measured. How accurate do you need your measurement to be?.

I found these that might (or might not) help.
https://www.eng-tips.com/faqs.cfm?fid=1781
https://www.thesnellgroup.com/featured-tips/the-importance-of-measuring-inductance

electronicsLearner77

Jul 2, 2015
However, the frequency at which the LCR40 measures the inductance will be automatically selected by the instrument to be 1KHz, 15KHz or 200KHz depending on the inductance that it sees
I am little confused here, the inductance is fixed independent of frequency, but the impedance is dependent on the frequency by jwL. So, the meter is measuring the inductance or the impedance?

TCSC47

Mar 7, 2016