Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Inkjet Printer electronic fault please help!

jareddoig

Sep 19, 2015
Hi,

I am new to this forum and a complete novice to electronics compared to most members - I humbly come to you to find out if my problem is at all repairable.

Device is a Roland Digital printer using waterbased ink with piezo electronic Epson print heads.

problem - one of the 4 print heads had a problem(possible cause waterbased ink spilled on circuit) this normally causes a fuse to blow on a head board which controls power to the heads, there is also a bank of transisitors and special Epson chips Driver IC (E09A19RA) on the head board. the transistors normally get blown if its a big problem with the head which in this case happened. so we replaced the Fuse (MMCT 3.15A), and 1 x Power Transistor (2SA1746 / 2SC4131). This normally sorts the problem out no stress. There is another little transistor looking part which sits very close to the fuse replaced which I think was damaged from replacement the part numner is 2SJ535 I believe its a power regulator...
The head board is directly connected to the mainboard for the machine and the power for the mainboard comes from the head board.
Once we replaced the components we put everything back together and "pop" something went, I could not find what this was but I suspect it had something to do with the power regulator and the mainboard. Anyways the machine would not switch on at all now. Lights came on boards etc but front panel switch didn't work.
We "on" there is a chip on the main board called LatticeM4A3 128/68 which gets extremely hot.