Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Interlogix NX-8v2, Double Zoning

ecm1949

Nov 22, 2021
I have a NX-8v2 Security System and want to know if I use the double zoning feature will I need to change all the EOL resistors. I wanted to add only two zones so if I turn on zones 9 and 10 only in Location 28 and change those resistors will the other zones be effected if I do not turn them on.
Can someone please help?

ChosunOne

Jun 20, 2010
emc 1949, first I have to warn you that, although I have around 40 years of experience as an alarm tech, working with over a dozen different professional-grade brands (nearly all of the major brands in North America)---by some quirk of fate, I've never worked with the Interlogix brand. My guess is that they just aren't marketed big in the D.C. Metro Area, compared to the other Big Brands.

I've looked over the installation manual and I want to say that turning on only zones 9 & 10 in section 28 will not affect any of the other zones you aren't trying to double, as long as none of the 4 doubled zones is a Fire Zone. In other words, you won't need to change any resistors except those necessary to enable 9 & 10 as doubled zones.
HOWEVER: I recommend you re-post your question in this forum:
https://www.doityourself.com/forum/electronic-home-security-systems-alarms-devices-87/
And get your answer from a tech who actually has hands-on experience with Networx panels.

ecm1949

Nov 22, 2021
Thank You for the information. I gave it a try by turning on the double zoning feature. All zones except zone 8 which is a fire alarm have a 3.3k EOL resistor. The zones 9 & 10 have a 6.98k EOL resistor. According to the manual it calls for a 3.74k on the lower zones when doubling. I went to Location 28 and turned on the first two zones which gave me zones 9 & 10. I dont know if all the zones 1 thru 8 are doubled when you dont turn them on. Zone 8 is a 2- wire smoke detector. It shows OK and the light on the detector is still flashing green.