Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Is it necessary to power on in order to diagnose failure IC of CRT TV?

bshi02

Mar 7, 2024
Hello.

A few days ago,I stumbled on A slimCRT TV(21fu1r-ns of 220 voltage) in a recycling bin.

But,Unfortunately It is impossible to power on this slimCRT TV.

So I dismentled this slimCRT TV,and found that its fuse never have been blown and Voltage of big capacitor(main filter capacitor) is 315v

But I have little experience and knowledge about electronics repair,So I searched for any information about repairing "Not turning on CRT TV"

I found that it is necessary measuring voltage of drain and source pin in STR power regulator or measuring voltage of diode anode and cathode with power on.

But I really really dread that If I power on PCB of this slimCRT TV and If there is something wrong with measuring method of digital multimeter,It would cause burst of cathode-ray tube or catching fire or electric-shock accident..

So I want to measure any doubtful diode or power regulator or any IC with power off.

Is it really necessary to power on this slimCRT TV in order to diagnose failure IC of this slim CRT TV?

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Don’t run before you can walk!.
CRTs are very dangerous in the wrong hands!.

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
So I want to measure any doubtful diode or power regulator or any IC with power off
You have to know how to solder and desolder the individual discrete components and check them out of circuit.
So I dismentled this slimCRT TV,and found that its fuse never have been blown and Voltage of big capacitor(main filter capacitor) is 315v