Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Know of a good reference book for electronics?

Photomultiplier

Nov 22, 2022
Bearing in mind that I'm still learning about electronics and electricity, today I found myself trying to recall what the power dissipation of SMD resistors is, and what stuff they dissipate their heat in (mostly into the air, mostly into the PCB, or 50/50).
I though, "I know, I'll find a reference book on the subject!" So, I went for the Encyclopedia of Electronic Components, but it doesn't have that info. After much searching, I found that the above book doesn't mention a lot of stuff, like heat dissipation of FR4 PCBs, foot print sizes for common packages, etc. And, believe it or not, but my internet searches still haven't turned up what I want.

Now I'm thinking I'll go to digikey or somewhere and download a datasheet to look up this info... but I still think it would be easier to have a book, a physical one, to look this stuff up in. Granted, if I had bought my SMD resistors from a supplier that had a datasheet, I might not be facing this problem, but really, is having some basic info on your generic SMD/through-hole components that much to ask? Also, only using components bought from a trusted source negates the possibility of reuse.

Anyone know of a good reference book for electronics?

Thanks!

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
Now I'm thinking I'll go to digikey or somewhere and download a datasheet to look up this info... but I still think it would be easier to have a book, a physical one, to look this stuff up in.
There are only limited amounts of data actually required to design most items so a 'book of everything' would not only be VAST but overkill for the most part.
Over the decades I've downloaded all the datasheets I've ever needed and barely gone back to them since the day I did it - I have Gb of datasheets on a portable drive....wasting space I suppose???
Start your own collection and see what I mean.