Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Knowledge Threshold from Hobbyist to Professional

John R Retired

Mar 13, 2022
In contrast with a student who goes to a trade school or junior college to formally study electronics for a 2 year degree.

A vague threshold but is there a dividing line (i.e. "electronics theory knowledge") between someone who gaining self taught skills tinkers around building miscellaneous electronics projects and gizmos for hobby fun or repair in the garage compared to a hobbyist who knows electronics theory so well he or she could get a job in a legit company as a electronics tech or engineering tech with no degree?
I believe some Hams who build their own gear (don't buy it off the shelf) could fall into either category although there are
lesser skill levels. Maybe too vague or a hard question to ask or answer, I don't know. Someone who starts from no knowledge as
a hobbyist but eventually reaches a substantial level of electronics skills and knowledge (self taught) beyond a hobbyist.
Is there a breakthrough level or threshold from hobbyist into professional level? (self taught).

Last edited:

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
You looking at one brother!
I tinkered around building electronics with breadboards learning the components as it went along and I realize how much I didn't know so I decided to get a formal education but I'm just starting out it's fun as hell and I get paid for it.
I work for and attend classes a technical institute here in California. Trying to help others with anonymity and blowing off steam is why I'm here. But really I don't think anyone can answer that everyone is different. Perhaps portions of your query.
I love RF it had always fascinated me as a child. Now not so much.
For terrestrial communication anyway.

Last edited:

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
There was one guy that did not even have any real formal education, apart from Sunday School, he apprenticed as a bookbinder and would read avidly especially anything about electrical & electronics.