Maker Pro
Maker Pro

L7805CV 5V Voltage Regulator to IP camera over POE

StealthRT

Sep 4, 2010
138
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
138
Hey all i am having a problem with getting my IP cameras to work over my home-made POE cable.

The parts i made in order to have POE are the following:
- L7805CV 5V Voltage Regulator (for input to the IP Cameras 5v/ground pin. 12v -> 5v) link: http://www.ebay.com/itm/L7805CV-5V-...315?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2a259974bb

-12V 2A DC Power Adapter Supply For CCTV Camera US (for use on the opposite side of the IP camera to inject into the ethernet cable) link: http://www.ebay.com/itm/12V-2A-DC-P...ables_Adapters_Connectors&hash=item4604a8bda9

- Night vision Waterproof Outdoor Wifi Wireless WIFI IP Camera IR 24 LED M-JPEG (The IP camera itself) link: http://www.ebay.com/itm/18081082403...l?_sacat=0&_from=R40&_nkw=180810824039&_rdc=1

- Power over Ethernet PoE Adapter Injector + Splitter Kit (to hook up between the switch and the IP Camera) link: http://www.ebay.com/itm/160680383412?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

- 1000Ft Direct Burial Waterproof Cat 5e Outdoor UTP CMX (used from the switch [garage] to the IP Cameras [outside]) link: http://www.ebay.com/itm/1000-Ft-Dir...fDhHu+0ak2WPbv4FVmFJJIU=&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc

Now the power supply that comes with it says this:
INPUT: 100-240V- 50/60Hz 0.4a max
OUTPUT: 5V 2A

I noticed when i hook up the original power supply to it-it does not power on.. I'm just guessing its because i have the 5V Voltage Regulator in there and its feeding it less than 5v?

But once i connected it up using the POE injectors it works just fine (tested with a ethernet cable about 10ft long or so). Now that i placed them outside i have (again guessing) about ~120ft of ethernet cable from one tree IP Camera to my garage. It's using the direct burial ethernet cable for this (the original test was using a standard ethernet cable).

The power is coming from the 12V 2A DC Power Adapter Supply hooked into the POE injector. From there the POE injector is hooked to the switch and the other end to the direct burial ethernet cable thats going outside to the IP Camera. At night i can see the glow of the red IR LEDS so i know its getting power. And i also see that its blinking (green led) on the switch so i know its communicating... But when i try to find its IP on my router it does not show up at all??

And again, i tested this out using the 12V 2A DC Power Adapter Supply/ POE injector and a standard 10ft ethernet cable and it worked just fine.

I tested the voltage with a volt meter to make sure it was getting enough from that long run. I had 12v on one side (the garage) going through the injector/ethernet wire and on the other end (outside at the other injector from the ethernet) i had about 12.4v constant so it really did not drop at all from that 150ft ethernet run.

I also tested to make sure my crimping on the ends of the ethernet were correct (had a gizmo that sent out a signal and showed me what order the wires are in). They all came back the same :)

So what all should i try testing out first? Second? Third? I already heat shrink all the connections outside so i hope i don't have to pull those apart to disconnect the POE/spitter!
 
Last edited:

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3
May 8, 2012
4,960
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
4,960
At night i can see the glow of the red IR LEDS so i know its getting power. And i also see that its blinking (green led) on the switch so i know its communicating... But when i try to find its IP on my router it does not show up at all??

Does this indicator indicate both transmitted and received data?

And again, i tested this out using the 12V 2A DC Power Adapter Supply/ POE injector and a standard 10ft ethernet cable and it worked just fine.

Test your CAT5 pinout against the 10ft test cable. I'm sure you know there are two configurations just like a RS232 serial cable. Make sure you don't have the run to your garage configured as a Null Modem, also called a Crossover Cable and also called something else that escapes me at the moment. Oh, I just came to me. Data Terminal Emulator and Data Terminal Console (DTE - DTC).

I tested the voltage with a volt meter to make sure it was getting enough from that long run. I had 12v on one side (the garage) going through the injector/ethernet wire and on the other end (outside at the other injector from the ethernet) i had about 12.4v constant so it really did not drop at all from that 150ft ethernet run.

Unless it's loaded the measurement will be meaningless as it pertains to voltage drop.

Chris
 

StealthRT

Sep 4, 2010
138
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
138
I'm pretty sure that the camera would not come on at all (and no LAN light activity) if there were not enough voltage getting to it...
 

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3
May 8, 2012
4,960
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
4,960
I'm pretty sure that the camera would not come on at all (and no LAN light activity) if there were not enough voltage getting to it...

Agreed but did you read all of what I said and asked? Part of my replies are in quote boxes embedded within your quotes. It questions the data lines.

Chris
 

StealthRT

Sep 4, 2010
138
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
138
Agreed but did you read all of what I said and asked? Part of my replies are in quote boxes embedded within your quotes. It questions the data lines.

Chris

Ah sorry i did not notice that you commented inside the quotes...

As for the pin layout i did the following on both ends of the ethernet cable:

I ordered them from pin1-8 [Green|Green white|Orange|Orange white|Blue|Blue White|Brown|Brown White]
 
Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Moderator
Jan 21, 2010
25,505
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
25,505
The pairs need to b connected around the right way (that is it matters that blue and blue-white (say) are the same way at each end).

The pairs are not connected the way you have either. The centre pins (4 and 5 are one pair, the next outer connections 3 and 6 are another pair, and finally the two outer connections are pairs (1&2 and 7 &8).

There are two standard connections (they refer to what colours are used where) and whichever one you pick, you use the same on both ends.
 

StealthRT

Sep 4, 2010
138
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
138
The pairs need to b connected around the right way (that is it matters that blue and blue-white (say) are the same way at each end).

The pairs are not connected the way you have either. The centre pins (4 and 5 are one pair, the next outer connections 3 and 6 are another pair, and finally the two outer connections are pairs (1&2 and 7 &8).

There are two standard connections (they refer to what colours are used where) and whichever one you pick, you use the same on both ends.

So are you saying its because of my pin arrangement that its not working?
 

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3
May 8, 2012
4,960
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
4,960
So are you saying its because of my pin arrangement that its not working?

You said that it worked fine when using the 10ft cable. You also said that the LED indicators on the camera seem to be indicating OK. I think this leaves miss-wired data lines or possibly a discontinuity in a crimp. Do you have a CAT5 tester? I'm not talking about an expensive model that sends, receives and logs data and speeds. I'm referring to an inexpensive continuity tester that uses LEDs.

Chris
 

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
3,635
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
3,635
So are you saying its because of my pin arrangement that its not working?

Quite possibly, the twisting and pairing of the wires is what makes communication wires like CAT5 differ from just willy-nilly wiring... This is why there are standard layouts defined...

Another thing I will point out that Chris pointed out, it doesn't take much 'sloppiness' to create a short or break when crimping modular jacks... I have seen something as mundane as one stray wire strand that creates a short when put in the connector, as well as the insulation of the wire being stretched out so that the crimp misses the actual wire inside... And honestly these little things are very easy to miss or overlook...
 

StealthRT

Sep 4, 2010
138
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
138
Quite possibly, the twisting and pairing of the wires is what makes communication wires like CAT5 differ from just willy-nilly wiring... This is why there are standard layouts defined...

Another thing I will point out that Chris pointed out, it doesn't take much 'sloppiness' to create a short or break when crimping modular jacks... I have seen something as mundane as one stray wire strand that creates a short when put in the connector, as well as the insulation of the wire being stretched out so that the crimp misses the actual wire inside... And honestly these little things are very easy to miss or overlook...

Yes, i did test it out using the LED ethernet tester (automated cycle on one end going through 1-8+gnd and on the other end, a small adapter with 8 LEDs that light up individually.

So (TIA-568b)
OrangeWhite / Orange / GreenWhite / Blue / BlueWhite / Green / BrownWhite / Brown

Being 4/5+ (White / Blue / Blue) and 7/8- (BrownWhite / Brown)

I'll just have to cut off both ends and do this again with that color schema.
 
Last edited:

StealthRT

Sep 4, 2010
138
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
138
Yep that was the cause. Not putting it in the proper order! Thanks for the help!
 
Top