Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Latching Relays

David Birchall

Oct 2, 2017
I am an Electrician, but have little experience of working with electronics. I am in the process of installing a very simple hard wired 12 volt DC alarm, consisting of 8 door and window reed switches and 2 personal attack buttons in my friends motorhome.

I am struggling with connecting up a Latched Relay, I understand how the relay and latch connections work, but I am unsure as how to connect the external strobe flashing light and a Sound Bomb once the alarm been activated. I have been looking at relays SPST, DPDT, TPDT and various changeover relays. However there are many types on the market from £1:20 to £11:00 plus and some refer to auto relays for large loads and other to telecommunications. Also I have read that the collapsing coil in the relay can cause spikes and damage other electronic components (strobe, sound bomb). I believe I would need to connect suitable capacitors at certain points in the circuit.

I also need to buy/build a very simple timer circuit to cut the alarm off after 10 minutes max and would need to how to connect it into the overall circuit. Any help would be really appreciated.

Rational behind a simple circuit.

MY friend tells me many motorhomes have alarm systems and are basically small household alarms systems or simple shed type alarms, some even have vibration detectors and are wireless/wifi connected, But one thing they all have in common, is they are 100% electronic control and when a problem occurs they are far away from home and, like my friend are away for the winter in Spain or Portugal, for the sake of a small fault the complete system has to be switched off. The motorhomes suffer like any road vehicle from a terrific amount of vibration.