Maker Pro
Maker Pro

LDO gets hot when using a relay module?

BucketOfFish

Oct 6, 2015
Hi everyone,

I have a question about the attached circuit:

QOoPLfw.jpg

(Sorry if it's unclear - I have very little experience in drawing circuit diagrams). What I have here is a 5V relay module powered by a battery, with an LDO providing the 5V input to the relay. When the signal (S) pin is low, the module and LED are off. When S is high, the module and LED are both on.

My question is this - when the module is on, after a while the LDO gets hot. Why is this? I figure I probably need to add another resistor somewhere, but where is the best place?

Last edited:

Tha fios agaibh

Aug 11, 2014
QOoPLfw.jpg
I figure I probably need to add another resistor somewhere, but where is the best place?
I think you need to limit the current into the relay so devide 5v by the required coil current to get resistor value and put it in series between ldo and relay coil. Also add a blocking diode parallel with coil to mitigate spikes.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
The problem is likely that the current required to operate the relay is quite high and the power dissipation in the regulator is such that its getting hot.

I will assume that your reason for using a relay is more than just to turn on and off a LED, so I won't comment on that.

The first thing is to calibrate your finger so we have a good idea of how hot the regulator is actually getting. Look for this resource (sorry its hard to insert a link from a mobile platform) and let us know how hot it actually is.

if it is too hot then the options include using a relay with a lower operating current, using a physically larger regulator, attaching a heatsink to the regulator, or using a switch mode regulator (or even a combination of these).

of course the problem may also be that you have a writing error, but if the circuit operates then this is less likely.