Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Learning Project Help - Converting a full sized solar panel

driscolldb

Aug 24, 2018
Hello,

I'm just getting into electronics and thought I'd make something useful, and hopefully easy.

I'd like to take a full-sized 100W solar panel and turn it into a USB charger, without battery storage or charge controller. Much like the available portable solar phone chargers, except on a much larger scale, and not so portable. Its going to sit in a window and keep a bunch of usb flashlights, radios, and phone battery banks topped off. It might also be taken to various outings.

I plan to drill and cut into the casing of the panel to add as many 5V 1.5A female USB ports as realistically possible. I'm not looking to fast charge anything, nor do I need abysmally slow charging.

The panel:
100W 18.2V 5.49A

The ideas I've had include chopping up a bunch of car cigarette USB outlets and wiring them into the panel, or stepping each and every outlet down with something like an IC7805.

This will be an all in one unit so it will sit in the sun and heat dissipation will be a factor. I may just run cable from the panel to an outlet box so that the panel can sit in the sun while the devices being charged sit in the shade.

So, my questions are, is this realistic? How many USB outlets could I expect to get out of this? Should I step up power up to get more?

Any design ideas and help is very much appreciated.

Thank you and respectfully,

David

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Might be a good idea for you to do some reading on solar panels and their characteristics and requirements for an output controller.
One is an open circuit panel can deliver in excess of 80 v dc which can give a nasty wack or worse.

driscolldb

Aug 24, 2018
A single 100w solar panel, rated at 18V can put out 80v dc?

My home solar system is 48V and I have to connect several in series to get that high.

I may not be understanding you.

Thank you,

David

WHONOES

May 20, 2017