Maker Pro
Maker Pro

led lamp failed adapter

pharaon

Oct 28, 2014
435
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
435
i have this lamp that start to dim and now no light
so i opened it up and measure the output DC it was unstable from 4 to 16 DC Fluctuating value
datasheet of the main ship and circuit schematic
do you think it's the main reason? if it's and it's unavailable to get new one is there any replacement circuit i can make with available component that can give me the same output voltage?
it light 20 LED so i guess the output volt is 72 ===> 3.6 forward volt for each led with 150 mA for the 20 led since it's all in series connection






 

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
6,860
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
6,860
You should avoid playing with non isolated supplies as your schematic shows.
There is a constant danger of mains supply appearing on the output.

Circuit diagram does not appear to relate to your board.
Chip likely, circuit no.

Is this part of a totally enclosed LED bulb...???
If so, comment at the start applies again.
 

73's de Edd

Aug 21, 2015
3,607
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
3,607
Sir pharaon . . .

Since the init is now not blowing fuses NOR has its internal FET shorted, and the unit is TRYING to work for you.
I suspect that time, plus high frequency switching operation and developed circuit heat . . .has " BEATEN THE BRAINS " out of C1 nand C2 , see if new ones don't make the unit work for you again.

Thasssssssssssssit . . . .


73's de Edd . . . . .

The problem with trouble shooting is that SOMETIMES , trouble shoots back.


.
 

73's de Edd

Aug 21, 2015
3,607
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
3,607
i already desoldering C1 and tested it with DMM and it gave the right capacitance

Common capacitance analysis won't be conclusive in a circuit such as those capacitors are being used in.
Can you tell me their measured EQUIVALENT SERIES RESISTANCE values also ? . . .if not . . .sub in two new or known good capacitors.

Also is there possibly another E- cap that is not seen here and is located on down towards the LED's ?
 
Last edited:

pharaon

Oct 28, 2014
435
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
435
ok the small CAP is 1μf 50v and i found a replacement for it
the big CAP is 6.8 μf and what i could found is 4.7μf 400v or 10μf 450v
but couldn't find 6.8 μf
so which would make the replacement for it
 

Cirkit

Oct 28, 2015
153
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
153
i don't have ESR tester

Given all the repair work and experimenting you seem to be doing, it would be a worthwhile investment. You can pick up the Mega 328 variants fairly cheaply online.
 

pharaon

Oct 28, 2014
435
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
435
ok that's weird, i changed the two CAPs and tried to test the output volt , and it was the same Fluctuating value 4 to 16 DCV
but then i said why not to test with my old analog meter ,and surprisingly it was 62 DCV steady, so i changed the 10μf 450v to the original 6.8μf 400V again, and connected the led chip and it light bright

so i guess the wrong measurements by the DMM was cause there's no load on the circuit , is that true? if not then what would be the reason?

You can pick up the Mega 328 variants fairly cheaply online.
not familiar with that "ATMEGA328" , what would such chip do? will i be able to have certain DCV output from it ? i read it's used for Arduino
 

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
4,891
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
4,891
Mega not Atmega. It's a cheap LCR meter.
Some are very good. They range from about £7 - £25.
Amazon.
I stand corrected. The Amazon link specifies Atmega chip.
My units are Mega clones.

Martin
 
Last edited:

Cirkit

Oct 28, 2015
153
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
153
Here is another variant that has SMD test pads and connections for external probes to make it easier to test components:

s-l1600.jpg
 
Top