Maker Pro
Maker Pro

LED Wiring Help

CommanderZarkon

Dec 2, 2023
Hello!
This is my first time posting.
Electrics is something I am not good at, so hopefully someone can help me with this:

I want to make a diorama for my nephew for Christmas that serves as a mood lamp. He is nuts about the whole Mandolorian thing, so I am building a 1/12 model of Boba Fett with modifications to represent my nephew if he was a Mandolorian.

The figure will be blasting off with the rocket pack while being attacked by a tentacled thing. The smoke/fire from the rocket pack will be engulfing much of the creature, while in Mando's right hand is a "dark saber" and in his left a blaster. He will be blasting a hole through the creature's head and has just cut off a tentacle.

This is how the model will will light up:
~A blue LED filament for the dark saber in his right hand.
~A red LED filament (maybe two) coming out of the blaster and going through the creature's head.
~Three or four LED filaments OR a tape type LED. These will be wrapped around the support rod for the figure, which will then have cotton (airbrushed with yellow, red, and black) to simulate the smoke and fire from the rocket pack.

The fire effect I want to create will be similar to this:
The part about the lights is at 7:50

So the filaments are 3volts, 100mA
Here is a link to what I am using:

I don't want to burn these out, but I'd like for them to be nice and bright, and to last.
I was told a wall adapter would have to be 120v to 3V to 100mA with 8-10 watts.
I have not been able to find anything like that. Best is the power unit says a bunch of volts etc.

Is there a way to do this without running down the life of the LED filaments?
I suppose one way would be to use a two AA battery holder and switch for the saber and one for the blaster bolt, and something else for the fire part, but that seems unnecessarily complicated.