Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Lens info needed

Jouellet

Feb 2, 2015
I know, it's not really an electronic question, but it started as an electronic idea !!

I'm looking for info on which lens might be needed: I want to group a couple of hi-power LED, let's say on a 2-3" (5-8 cm) diameter, and focus the light as a beam, something like what you see in "disco-fixture" in bars....

I have no knowledge in optic, but I hope that someone here does or has access to one of those fixture....

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Some LEDs already have a lens.
You will need to look at the spec sheet for the particular LED you are using.

Externet

Aug 24, 2009
Imagine you already have in your hands 3 or 4 lenses. How will you mount/held them perfectly aligned and properly spaced... That is the hardest part.
Try to locate an used one; will be cheaper than choosing/buying lenses and housing to hold them properly.
----> http://www.stagespot.com/fixtures-c/lighting-fixtures/followspot-fix.html
Or
----> http://www.ebay.com/sch/items/?_nkw=led follow spot&_sacat=&_ex_kw=&_mPrRngCbx=1&_udlo=&_udhi=&_sop=12&_fpos=&_fspt=1&_sadis=&LH_CAds=&rmvSB=true
There is a LED one listed there, cheap. No way to beat it by buying lenses.

Last edited:

Jouellet

Feb 2, 2015
Externet: i have a lathe, a CNC and a laser cutter.... Pretty sure I can figure out a way.....

Evans1944: thx for the link... Will look at it !

Bluejets: planning on using 20 watt LED... Will need a lens system

KJ6EAD

Aug 13, 2011
Start by choosing an LED with a narrow viewing angle then follow the guidance in hevans1944's post.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012