Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Light Meter Programming

heberjm8

Oct 11, 2010
Hello. I’m hoping I can obtain some help with programming a circuit. I’m designing an ambient light sensor with a digital display showing the amount of lux detected. I have ordered a digital display that comes with a HD44780 chip included in it. Here is the webpage for the digital display I have ordered:

https://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=709

Well I have never programmed before and I’m hoping I can learn a few things from the people here at this forum. I’m not sure but is it just as easy as ordering a photo sensor and getting the correct program for it to communicate with the digital screen to display the lux? If so, can someone please recommend a possible photo sensor or schematic for my application?
If someone would respond I would GREATLY appreciate the help. THANK YOU SO MUCH.

heberjm8

Oct 11, 2010
Hi Guys,

I have a question about the photocell for my application.

I talked to a customer service person from sparkfun.com and ordered the following photocell:

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=9088

Would you agree that this is a good photocell for my design. I'm just hoping its sensitive and accurate enough. I'm making a basic light sensor that will show the amount of lux on the digital screen. I figure my light meter lux max will be either 20k,40k,50k, or 100k lux. I looked at other light meters on the market and this is what they all maxed out at.

I also ordered a microprocessor from the customer service guys recommendation. Here it is:

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=9950

heberjm8

Oct 11, 2010
Hello,