Maker Pro
Maker Pro

LM3916 LED bar graph display wiring?

wingers

Nov 17, 2009
Hi,

I’m new to this forum and have joined up because I’ve been making some circuit boards at home and am struggling to get one of them working properly. I’m by no means an expert but can wield a soldering iron and have had some success with these kind of boards in the past…
Anyway, onto the point at hand - I’ve got four 0-10V outputs from a bank of thermocouples and I’m trying to use these to light four bar graph displays of 10 LEDs each.

I’ve sourced some LM3916 chips which seem to be what I need but the circuit I’ve created doesn’t seem to work :(

I guess I’m really looking for someone who has used these chips before and could help explain what I’m doing wrong. Failing that then if anyone wouldn’t mind looking through the datasheet I’d be very appreciative…

The part I don’t fully understand is the internal voltage regulation so I’m guessing that that is where I’ve gone wrong.

Thanks,

Wingers

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
Now, that's a pretty comprehensive & explanatory data & application sheet.
Can you describe what your problem is (in more detail please)?
Can you measure some voltages around your circuit?

I don't know what resistor values you used but with regards to the formulas, remember that divisions precedes additions & subtractions (when on the same line).

wingers

Nov 17, 2009
I have measured voltages around the circuit but haven’t found anything to suggest why the LEDs are lighting. Everything seemed to be as I intended.

I've left my camera at work today but tmrw I should be able to post a picture of my circuit design if it would help...

With regards to the datasheet, the part that confuses me is the internal current regulation on page 8.